The MC-NACS proudly sponsors two versions of the Guiseppe Parravano Award for Excellence in Catalysis. The Award for Excellence in Catalysis Research, awarded in odd years, recognizes any researcher within North America for outstanding achievement in the conduct of clever, productive, and influential research on problems of central interest and importance in catalysis and related fields. The Award for Excellence in Catalysis Research and Development, awarded in even years, recognizes any researcher from the greater Michigan area who has demonstrated outstanding achievements in the discovery and implementation of novel, high value catalytic chemistries and processes. Receipients are nominated by club members, supported by their curriculum vitae and letters of recommendation, and selected by an anonymous committee formed under the direction of the MC-NACS Vice President. The winner receives a $1000 honorarium and delivers an award address at the Annual Symposium.

A Letter of Intention to Nominate, typically provided by email, is requested by the sitting MC-NACS Vice President in January, and is typically due by the beginning of February. Nomination materials are due to the Vice President by the end of February. The recipient is announced toward the end of March.

Nominations for this year’s Parravano Award are currently closed. Stay tuned for an announcement of this year’s recipient!

Past recipients of the Giuseppe Parravano Memorial Award for Excellence in Catalysis Research and Development:

        1983             Mordecai Shelef – Ford Motor Company

          1984             Alan Brenner – Wayne State University

          1986             Klaus Otto – Ford Motor Company

          1988             Craig Murchison – The Dow Chemical Company

          1990             John L. Gland – The University of Michigan

          1992             Peter R. Norton – University of Western Ontario

          1994             Johannes W. Schwank – The University of Michigan

          1996             Robert W. McCabe – Ford Motor Company

          1998             Galen B. Fisher – General Motors Corporation

          2000             Robert A. Stowe – Bobcat Technologies, Ltd.

          2002             Thomas J. Pinnavaia – Michigan State University

          2004             Dennis A. Hucul  – The Dow Chemical Company

          2006             Levi T. Thompson – The University of Michigan

          2008             George W. Graham  –  Ford Motor Company

          2010             Guo-Shuh John Lee – The Dow Chemical Company

          2012             Hung-Wen Jen – Ford Motor Company

          2014             Phillip Savage – The University of Michigan

          2016             Suljo Linic – The University of Michigan

          2018             William F. Schneider – The University of Notre Dame                                      


Past receipients of the Giuseppe Parravano Memorial Award for Excellence in Catalysis Research:

          1985             W. Nicholas Delgass – School of Chemical Engineering, Purdue University

          1987             Lanny D. Schmidt – Department of Chemical Engineering & Materials Science, University of Minnesota

          1989             W. Henry Weinberg – Division of Chemistry & Chemical Engineering, California Institute of Technology

          1991             Israel Wachs – Zettlemoyer Center for Surface Studies, Lehigh University

          1993             J. Michael White – Department of Chemistry, The University of Texas

          1995             Wolfgang M.H. Sachtler – Department of Chemistry, Northwestern University

          1997             Raymond J. Gorte – Department of Chemical Engineering, The University of Pennsylvania

          1999             James A. Dumesic – Department of Chemical Engineering, University of Wisconsin

          2001             D. Wayne Goodman – Department of Chemistry, Texas A&M University

          2003             Bruno Notari – Department of Chemical Engineering, Northeastern University

          2005             Bruce C. Gates – Department of Chemical Engineering & Materials Science, University of California-Davis

          2007             Alex T. Bell – Department of Chemical Engineering, University of California – Berkeley

          2009             Mark A. Barteau – Department of Chemical Engineering, University of Delaware

          2011            Jens Nørskov – Department of Chemical Engineering, Stanford University

          2013             Maria Flytzani-Stephanopoulos – Department of Chemical & Biological Engineering, Tufts University

          2015             Jingguang Chen – Department of Chemical Engineering, Columbia University

          2017             Manos Mavrikakis – Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering, University of Wisconsin Madison