The 42nd Annual Michigan Catalysis Society Fall Symposium

Virtual via Zoom

The 42nd Annual Michigan Catalysis Society Fall Symposium will be held on Fall, September 29th, 2021 via Zoom.

The symposium is an excellent opportunity to present and learn about research results in the fields of homogeneous or heterogeneous catalysis, fundamental or applied, and to network with professional colleagues from the Greater Michigan area.




Wednesday, September 29, 2021


Morning Session:        Ming Yang, President

08:30 – 08:35               Welcome and Opening Remarks by Ming Yang, Clemson University


08:35 – 08:40               Introduction of Invited Speaker by Ming Yang


08:40 – 09:30                 Invited Lecture 

Single Atom Catalysis: From an Academic Curiosity to Industrial Applications, Abhaya K. Datye, University of New Mexico


09:30 – 9:50                   Predicting the Stability Metrics of Generic Nanocatalysts and their Uncertainties On-The-Fly, Tej Chokski, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore


09:50 – 10:10                 Accumulation and Nature of a Thermodynamically-stable PtOxHy Interface on Pt(111) During CA Between 0.5 and 1.1 VRHE, Arthur J. Shih, Leiden University, Leiden, The Netherlands


10:10 – 10:20                Break / buffer


10:20 – 10:40                 Investigating Surface and Gas-phase Chemistries during the Boron Nitride-catalyzed Oxidative Dehydrogenation of Propane, Juan M. Venegas, University of Wisconsin


10:40 – 11:00                 Machine-Learning Interpretable Chemisorption Models for Alloys, Jacques Esterhuizen, University of Michigan

11:00 – 11:20                 Oxygen Electrocatalysis by Non-Stoichiometric Mixed Metal Oxides: Avenues for Engineering Active and Stable Cationic Centers, Samji Samira, Wayne State University


11:20 – 11:40                 Influence of Anions on Charge Transfer in Redox Couples for Flow Batteries, Harsh Agarwal, University of Michigan


11:40 – 12:00               CeOx-Cu-Based Catalysts for CO2 Hydrogenation, Ibeh S. Omodolor, The University of Toledo


12:00 – 1:00                   Lunch break


Afternoon Session:      Krishna Janmanchi, Vice-President

​1:00 – 1:10                     Parravano Award Presentation by Johannes Schwank


1:10 – 2:00                     Parravano Award Lecture

Embracing the Complexity of Heterogeneous Catalytic Structures: Catalysis by Nonstoichiometric Mixed Metal Oxides and 3-Dimentionally Engineered Metal Catalysts, Eranda Nikolla, Wayne State University


2:00 – 2:20                     Electrocatalytic Nitrate Reduction to Ammonia on Metals and Alloys, Bryan R. Goldsmith, University of Michigan


2:20 – 2:40                     A First Principles Analysis to Understand the Potential Dependent Reaction Mechanism of Ethanol Electro-oxidation on Pt(100) surface, Siddharth Deshpande, Purdue University 


2:40 – 3:00                     Leveraging Encapsulated Morphologies to Improve Catalytic Activity and Durability, Alexander Hill, University of Michigan


3:00 – 3:10                     Break / buffer


3:10 – 3:20                     CO2 Capture and Conversion with Dual-Function Materials, Ana C. Alba-Rubio, The University of Toledo


3.20 – 3.30                   Rhodium Single-atom Catalysts on Titania for Reverse Water Gas Shift Reaction Explored by First Principles Mechanistic Analysis and Compared to Nanoclusters, Francis J. Doherty, University of Michigan


3:30 – 3:40                     Examining Pd Small-Pore Zeolites for Low-Temperature Catalytic Oxidation of Methane, Jingzhi Liu, Syracuse University


3:40 – 3:50                    Synergizing Atomically Dispersed Fe and Mo-Nitrogen Coordinated Active Sites for Efficient Electrochemical Nitrate Reduction to Ammonia, Eamonn C. Murphy, University of California, Irvine

3:50 – 4:00                   The Reaction Pathway of Propane Conversion to Higher Molecular Weight Hydrocarbons Using a PtZn/SiO2+H-ZSM-5 Bifunctional Catalyst, Che-Wei Chang, Purdue University


4:00 – 4:10                   Electrocatalytic Nitrate Reduction on Rhodium Sulfide Compared to Pt and Rh in the Presence of Chloride, Danielle Richards, University of Michigan


4:10 – 4:20                   Computational Investigation and Quantification of Active Cu Sites in Cu-SSZ-13 Zeolite for Selective Activation of Methane, Yujia Wang, University of Notre Dame


4:20 – 4:30                   Understanding Aqueous-phase Adsorption and Hydrogenation of Phenol on Pt and Rh from First Principles, Isaiah Barth, University of Michigan


4:30 – 4:40                   Examining Acid-Base Cooperativity in Zeotype Catalysts to Direct Cross-Aldol Condensation Reactions between Aldehydes, Wenlin He, Syracuse University


4:40 – 4:50                   Consequences of and Models for Incorporating Coverage-dependence into Microkinetic Models, Anshuman Goswami, University of Notre Dame


4:50 – 5:00                  Synthesis and Intrinsic Electrocatalytic Activity Evaluation of Ni2-xRhxP Nanoparticles for Water Splitting Reactions in Basic Media, Tharanga N. Batugedara, Wayne State University


5:00 – 5:10                   Final Remarks and Introducing New Officers by Ming Yang, President